A castle made of sand

On the ridge of dried out foam
Marked by high tides’ ever flow
On a barren beach, about as bare
As my heart feels right now

Exposed to wind and wave,
Stands my rickety creation
A structure, not so very tall
With walls bound to fall

It has a moat, its first defense
Shells, pebbles line its sides
And towers with Gothic peaks,
From dripping mud through fingers.

Bare and alone on a barren beach
I keep on digging, piling, shaping
For fear of thoughts that wander
When I idly sit in quiet here

My heart jolts as thoughts approach
I blank my mind, continue building
Carving crenels on these walls
It slowly gathers some appeal

A castle mostly made of sand
Will be a bastion of love
Decorated, fortified, entrenched
To melt away eventually

A fort signifying my civil attempt,
My futile ongoing struggle just
To hold and cherish, possess and keep
The love of another one like me

Waves and wind will wear these walls
The castle will cave in, towers fall
Reduced to but a lonely bump
On the shore for half a day

4 Responses to A castle made of sand

  1. annderster sê:

    simboliseer die branders iets, of is hulle maar net inevitable, soos die wind en die reen… elemente van die verloop van tyd?

    ek hou regtig van die laaste strofe. en hoe jy se jy dit doen omdat jy nie wil dink nie. partykeer moet mens nie dink nie.

    • kaneelsuiker sê:

      Ja, die branders is presies soos jy sê: elemente van die verloop van tyd (die wind is obstacles en probleme) wat elke keer weer afbreek wat opgebou is.

      Selfs al dink ek nie en hou net my hande besig is ek voortdurend, onbewus besig om weer iets kompleks op te bou in ‘n soeke na liefde. Ek hoop maar altyd dat dit miskien ‘n geringe effek het op mense om my, selfs net vir ‘n kort tydjie.

      Dankie en bly om weer van jou te hoor!

Lewer kommentaar

